Definition of Mundovore




Spring 2009

Originally uploaded by themiliones

That’s right. Now is the time when you get to find out what Mundovore is all about. Mundovore is someone who eats the whole world up, or eats through life traveling the world, which is me, and a bunch of other people I know.

So, I was raised Italian with a Jersey Italian attitude, and a whole bunch of crap that come along with that. Oddly, my mom did not cook very much. It was my grandmother’s cooking, my father’s mother, that I long for and cannot explain. There were cookies that I still have no idea how she made, and hand made noodles that she made with just one hand.

Many times we have made noodles here, but frankly, Josephine’s were the best. My father would get upset at her (we all lived together in a triplex in the bad part of town in Long Branch, New Jersey) that she hand made her own pasta noodles.

“Mommy, we live in the America and you can buy noodles at the store! They’re fifty cents! Nothing!”

I wish I could convey the accent here, but I cannot.

So when I got older, of course, like he rebelled against his parents, I rebelled against mine longing for the Italian ways of doing things.

One of the things my parents did was they ate food that was really sadly bad for them. Fast food, too much food, snickers bars, donuts every morning, Entenmann’s cookies (the chocolate chip kind). I turned back to my grandmother’s ways of doing things: the hard way – hand made.

One of the best things my husband and I ever did together was came up with our own handmade version of Habanero Alfredo.

This image above, however, is the beginning stages of how Europeans really eat. Leeks, green onions and onions in a pan, roasting with black pepper and salt. Later I’ll add chard. Chard is traditionally Italian, like kale. My father, however, has only terrible things to say about everything in the vegetable family, except tomatoes (which are fruits). He says Italians don’t eat chard.

Well, he lied. And that’s okay. The basic recipe is to slice thinly an entire onion, leek and a bunch of green onions. Saute them in butter. Chop bright lights chard into tiny slices and slivers and throw it on top once the onion mix is limp and browned. Add some water. The chard will cook down to almost nothing.

Add this to toasted bread, preferable also home made no-knead bread. Put on top a dollop of ricotta cheese, a squeeze of lemon, and some salt.

It’s a version of heaven, in my opinion. You don’t have to share this love.

Leave a Reply

