Leeks




Spring 2009

Originally uploaded by themiliones

Brief Post: Someone once told me that they call the British food “Bubble and Squeak” because the leeks squeak when you chew them. Even when thoroughly cooked. Yes this is true.

However, I still don’t know much about the Bubble part. And while some call “Bubble and Squeak” vile, I found it to be the only redeemable aspect of London. Sad, but true.

One of the other things I did while in London was go to Buckingham Green and sang the Ween song of the same name.

The basic gist is mash potatoes, and then add fried leeks. You can add, I think, almost anything from there, but perhaps that is why I like it. You can’t go wrong with those two vegetables together.

Anyway, this photo is of farmers market produce I picked up on Saturday. Radishes, leeks, and arugula. I am eating some of it now. More to come.

Leave a Reply

