Huevos Rancheros, a la Turkey Ridge Farms

Well, it’s a another post where I’ll have to explain how I  got onto this extreme egg kick, but this post is about my satisfaction with my Huevos Rancheros kick.

Huevos Rancheros

Well, so… through a meandering journey last Saturday I came upon a dozen eggs from Turkey Ridge Farm. Okay, I had bought  them at the Boise Co-op. But I didn’t know what I was going to make with them. Turns out I found a way to use all twelve in less than 24 hours. One of the ways was Huevos Rancheros.

In my house I’ve also been working with the definitive Mexican cookbook The Art of Mexican Cooking by Diane Kennedy.

For the past two weeks I’ve been trying out a bunch of different salsas involving fresh pasilla ancho peppers, dried of the same, tomatillo salsas, moles, and finally I saw “Salsa Ranchero” and I knew what had to be done.

Diane Kennedy’s recipes are exactly how recipes should be. She tells you what to do and when – nothing more and nothing  less. It’s a real book, like a conversation. I can hear her voice in these recipes.

First we roasted tomatoes and serranos in the oven. Next we cooked up some onions and garlic. We blended everything together with some olive oil and a bit of salt. This was the ranchero sauce. Fresher than anything I’ve ever had storebought or at a restuarant.

Next we grated the extra sharp cheddar cheese and chopped up some green onions. We toasted the corn tortillas in a thin layer of butter in one skillet and the eggs were cooked over easy and over hard in another.

Huevos Rancheros with local, organic eggs and fresh ingredients. This is the answer to the question: what’s simple, easy and delicious? The assembled product was just right and so satisfying.

Huevos Rancheros, again

Leave a Reply

