Crepes

All around the world there are different kinds of crepes. In Italy the crepes are called crespella. In Vietnam they call them banh xeo. The banh xeo is filled with mung beans and shrimp. The batter is made with rice flour and turmeric. The Italian crespellas are way more like a “German pancake” which fluffs up when it’s cooked.

Right before my diagnosis I had dinner at a friend’s house and they served up some awesome crepes. The crepes were filled with cottage cheese and had maple syrup on top. It was two days later that I was diagnosed with a disease and found out that certain foods caused pain. These crepes were ones that did not cause pain! I wanted to make them again – but my past experiences making crepes really sucked, to be honest. Sticking to pans, not holding together – ugh!

I played around with a bunch of recipes online and finally came up with the best one for me. For fillings I’ve used cottage cheese and nutella (even though I’m not supposed to eat nutella). I found these crepes to be just perfectly spongey, but hold together just right – delicate and delicious, for sweet or savory fillings.

Use a blender to mix:

  • 1 c flour
  • 1 1/2 c milk
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 1 t granulated sugar

Blend until mixed.

Allow the batter to sit for one hour and up to one day. This allows the bubbles to escape from the blending and allows the right mixture to form.

I used an electric griddle, which I prefer for the evenness and the teflon coating. I turn it on to 350 degrees and melt 1/2 T butter in the griddle when it’s hot.

Pour 1/3 c of batter into the hot, buttered griddle.

When the edges begin to turn a darker yellow, and they are darker to about a half inch from the edge, it’s time to flip.

Flip the crepe. It’s easy and fun.

Put about a 1/4 cup nutella into the crepe, roll, and serve hot!

For the cottage cheese crepes mix the following into a bowl:

  • 1 c cottage cheese
  • 1/8 t salt
  • 1/4 t black pepper
  • a few chopped, fresh chives

Put a 1/4 cup of this mixture into the hot crepe, roll and then pour some maple syrup on top.

One thought on “Crepes

Leave a Reply

