Cannoli

Untitled by themiliones
Untitled, a photo by themiliones on Flickr.

I love lots of guilty pleasures. One of my most nostalgic ones is eating cannoli, or rather sharing one on an outdoor patio with a loved one.

I grew up making my own cannoli with my family. Sadly, they are impossible to find in my current city. Whenever I visit Portland or Oakland I seek them out.

This one was eaten outside one of my favorite delis of all time, Genova Delicatessen http://www.genovadeli.net/. Of course, they have soppresatta, which is one of the most delicious salami’s you will ever try.

This cannoli is made with these Italian cured cherries — basically dried cherries soaked in amaretto. Delicious.

Leave a Reply

