Poppy seed challah

Not since I was in New York City with a fine friend and my husband have I had such a delicious loaf of challah. I did not buy this at the store, and I did not seek it out. My wonderful, incredible neighbors created this challah for my family and I to enjoy.

This challah was delivered to us one night, still warm, on a school night. It was delicious. This was the best, most authentic challah I have eaten outside of New York City. And my amazing neighbors made it.

Thank you Matt and Holly! You made our house smell great, our bellies warm, and our hearts full of love.

 

Addition from Matt – Like most recipes I have worked on this is courtesy of my mother. I felt that my braid was particularly creative. I am fortunate to have amazing neighbors to share life with. It means a great deal to me.

 

Challah or Jewish Egg Bread
3/4 cup warm water (can also use cow’s milk, almond milk, soy milk for extra protein)
6 Tablespoons vegetable oil or melted butter
I put butter in the milk and heat them together in the microwave.
2 eggs
1 teaspoon salt
4 Tablespoons sugar (which is 1/4 cup)
3 Cups flour
3 teaspoons bread machine yeast
Place these ingredients in the bread machine in the order given.  It is always wet stuff first in a bread machine.
Set your machine to dough cycle.
When the machine is done, remove the dough and refrigerate several hours or overnight.
Divide the dough into three equal parts.  Roll them into logs about 14 inches long.
Cover a large baking sheet with parchment paper or other baking surface…
Make the braid on the baking sheet.
Set in a warm and draft-free environment to raise…about double in bulk.
Cover the dough with an egg wash.  This is one egg and just a teaspoon or so water, whisk and paint the dough with a paint brush.
Sprinkle the dough with seeds of your choice.
Bake at 350°F for 30 minutes total.  I turn my bread half way through for even cooking.
Rest your warm bread as long as you can before slicing.
Of course, if you just can’t wait, just pull off parts of the braid and eat.   Yummy.
Happy Baking………..Debby Smith
Leave a Reply

