Pumpkin Sage Lasagna

Last year around this time my father died. For Thanksgiving we had steaks. This was the day before my father died. I found out in the morning.

I had also just barely conceived my baby boy. As a result, for these reasons, I ended up not writing in this blog for a very long time, but I am ready for the blog again.

image

I now have no parents, just in laws.

We also had met my husband’s biological family. So now I have many inlaws.

I have lots of good stories and good memories to tell about some hilarious pregnancy food stories. About things like mango ice cream, runny eggs, Pastry Perfection, the Boston Shake from Fanci Freez, but today I want to tell you about our new traditions.

I decided a few weeks ago that I was eating way too much meat. Way too much! And so I turned back to vegetarianism.

I thought we were going to have a turkey for Thanksgiving, but it turns out that my husband doesn’t like turkey.

And I wanted Thanksgiving to be just the four of us together.

Our menu consisted of:

pumpkin sage lasagna
sour cream mashed potatoes
salad
kale mushroom stuffing
roasted lemony brussels sprouts
maple syrup chipotle sweet potatoes
brown onion gravy
orange ginger cranberry sauce
spinach dip
kale chips
pumpkin cheesecake
pumpkin pie

and…. more I think.

Our mashed potatoes were made with potatoes we grew!

The salad had arugula from the garden, and purple carrots I pulled out the morning of Thanksgiving!

The lasagna had sage from our garden too.

It was the best lasagna I have ever made.

Here were my steps:

1. Make a white sauce with white onion and garlic and sage
2. Mix ricotta with eggs and parsley
3. Bake a whole pumpkin
4. Put a layer of white sauce in the bottom of a baking sheet
5. Add a layer of no boil lasagna noodles
6. Put some baked pumpkin on that layer of noodles
7. Sprinkle salt and sage into the top of that later
8. Add a layer of no boil lasagna noodles
9. Add the ricotta mix
10. Add a layer of no boil lasagna noodles
11. Put the rest of the white sauce on top
12. Grate mozzerella and parmesan on top of that, adding panko bread crumbs
13. Put decorative sage on the top
14. Bake for one hour

It sliced perfectly. The white sauce was absorbed by the noodles.

Truly, we had the best Thanksgiving ever. It wasn’t just the food. It was the family, the friends, the memories, the year.

Leave a Reply

